WOW0821240209BLCLJLLLML

How to Become a Fishing Guide in Maine

A fishing and hunting guide license is required to operate as a guide in Maine. There are different qualifications to guide one or more specific types of activities, including Specialized Hunting, Specialized Fishing, Specialized Recreational, Specialized Sea Kayaking, Specialized Tidewater Fishing.

Maine Fishing

Requirements

  • Submit an application
  • Get certified by the American Red Cross in standard first aid or another other standard first-aid course
  • Attend an oral examination
  • Attend a written examination
  • Fee for new guide application: $100, including testing
  • Testing process for new applicants takes 6-12 months 
  • Guide resources and other study material can be found on the Maine government Web site.

Application Submission

PDF Maine Fishing Guide Application

  • PDF Maine Whitewater Fishing Guide Application
  •  

    Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
    Guide License Application
    284 State Street
    Augusta, ME  04333

    Exam

    The oral exam covers general client care issues, weather related questions, first aid, safety, ethics, legal business practices, behavior of clients, aquatic vegetation, clothing, sanitation, watercraft, snowmobile and ATV laws and regulations, map & compass, GPS, ammunition identification, fishing fly identification, mammal identification, fish identification,  personal floatation device and waterfowl identification.

    For the written examination a minimum score of 70 is required to pass each classification, and a candidate must take a written exam for each classification desired.

    Test prep courses are offered in the private sector.

  • Contact

  • Physical Address

    Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
    284 State Street
    Augusta, ME 04333-0041

    Mailing Address

    41 State House Station
    Augusta, ME  04333-0041

    (207) 287-8000
    Fax: (207) 287-8094 or (207) 287-6395
    TTY: Maine Relay 711



    Added to cart!