How to Become a Fishing Guide in New Mexico
An outfitters license is required to be a fishing guide in New Mexico. The New Mexico Department of Game & Fish regulates registered outfitters. There are two kinds of outfitter licenses: corporate entity and non-corporate entity.
- Have a valid New Mexico state, county, or municipal business registration
- Be authorized to do and must do outfitting business under the laws of this state
- Be identical in every way to the previously certified business that meets all criteria, if it has changed its name from that of a previously certified business
The outfitter application fee is $50 for resident and $100 for nonresident applicants.
New Mexico Department of Game & Fish Field Operations Division
Guide & Outfitter Program
P.O. Box 25112
Santa Fe, NM 87504
New Mexico Department of Game & Fish
1 Wildlife Way
Santa Fe, NM 87507
(505) 476-8000 or (888) 248-6866